M.S. Subbulakshmi

It’s the birth centenary of one of the greatest artists of the past century, M.S. Subbulakshmi. The topic is even trending on my Facebook newsfeed! (Now that I’m in India, I’m recommended different news topics than I generally would be. I feel more than a little blessed to be skipping out on the 24/7 news coverage of the Donald.) To commemorate her birthday, Swarajya Mag published a piece from their archives, a 1974 interview with M.S. herself. The link can be found here and is a lovely read. From what I’ve heard-from my mom and from the scores of articles about M.S. online, Amma was not only a stellar and gifted performer, but an incredibly kind person and generous humanitarian. Though primarily a singer, she also trained as a veena player and even enjoyed a brief stint in acting when she played the role of Mirabai in the film Meera–I only wish I could have seen her perform live. Kurai Ondrum Illai is one of my favorite pieces by her. I hope you enjoy:

Leave a Reply

