Weekly Collective

Give Poor People Cash: The Atlantic is one of my favorite magazines and for good reason–quality articles like this one. I’m so tired of hearing the same tropes about how low-income folks are irresponsible and bad at managing their money and was excited to see that the evidence refutes this belief.

Hillary Clinton’s Data Campaign: This article was actually recommended to me by my mom (who happens to be working on Hillary Clinton’s Oregon campaign! How cool is that?) After taking a programming class last winter (and designing my own data-driven website), I really began to appreciate how useful data analytics can be. Apparently, Hillary Clinton appreciates data too–her campaign relies on statisticians to deliver solid results. Clinton’s campaign is using data to change the face of political elections forever–and the Republicans are lagging an election cycle behind.

Hand-pulled Rickshaws in Kolkata: People-powered rickshaws are considered a human rights issue by many–and are actually illegal in most of the world where they once were used. Except–in Kolkata, they are considered part of the city’s heritage! Everyone from children to tourists use the rickshaws and this is a quick read about the practice–is it cruel or cool? Personally, I find the idea dehumanizing (just imagine British colonizers being pulled around by their Indian servants). But I do have to wonder what kinds of professions these rickshaw drivers would pursue if their job were outlawed-would they end up destitute or be able to shift into a new line of work?

Ignoring the Liberal Arts: I loved this line: “For me, there’s nothing more depressing than meeting incoming freshmen at Mason who have declared themselves as accounting majors.” I couldn’t agree more–even at my small liberal arts college, so many students chose a subject for job-garning potential, rather than their love for the material. I wish more policy in the U.S. supported subjects beyond the STEM bubble–I know that Congress now has a STEAM Caucus (A for Arts and Design) chaired by my Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici. Hopefully public perception begins to change about the arts and humanities.

Also-while living in Santiniketan for a week, I grew to depend on my Al Jazeera Magazine app for accessing hours of interesting articles. My lodge had no internet available so I was looking for substantial material to read offline. I would highly suggest downloading the app! I read dozens of very informative and riveting articles. (It’s always good to get a non-U.S. perspective on current affairs–I’m trying to read some Indian magazines as well)

 

Leave a Reply

